sanjuan_municipio_coa_n10664San Juan, from San Juan Bautista “Saint John the Bap­tist ”) is the cap­i­tal and largest munic­i­pal­i­ty in Puer­to Rico. San Juan was found­ed by Span­ish colonists in 1521, who called it Ciu­dad de Puer­to Rico (“Rich Port City”). Sev­er­al his­tor­i­cal build­ings are locat­ed in San Juan; among the most notable are the city’s for­mer defen­sive forts, Fort San Felipe del Mor­ro and Fort San Cristo­bál, and La For­t­aleza, the old­est exec­u­tive man­sion in con­tin­u­ous use in the Americas.).

Today, San Juan serves as one of Puer­to Rico’s most impor­tant sea­ports, and is the island’s man­u­fac­tur­ing, finan­cial, cul­tur­al, and tourism cen­ter.  Orig­i­nal­ly, the city of San Juan was called Puer­to Rico mean­ing “rich port”, and the entire island was called San Juan. The cap­i­tal and the island’s names were lat­er acci­den­tal­ly switched.

San Juan is sub­di­vid­ed into 18 dis­tricts, 16 of which fall with­in the for­mer (until 1951) munici­pio of Río Piedras. Eight dis­tricts are fur­ther sub­di­vid­ed in to sec­tors, includ­ing both dis­tricts of the for­mer munici­pio of San Juan.


Subdivisions of San Juan, Puerto Rico

Caim­i­toHato Rey SurSabana Llana Norte
CupeyMonacil­loSabana Llana Sur
El Cin­coMonacil­lo UrbanoSan Juan Antiguo
(Old San Juan)
Gob­er­nador PiñeroOri­enteSan­turce
Hato Rey CentralPuebloTor­tu­go
Hato Rey NorteQue­bra­da ArenasUni­ver­si­dad